Separation of Merged Osun State Constituencies: A Step in The Right Direction

Separation of Merged Osun State Constituencies: A Step in The Right Direction

The Greater Osun Agenda (GOA) wish to commend the 8th Osun State House of Assembly led by the Rt Honourable Adewale Egbedun as speaker for her pro people disposition through the promotion of quality legislations that are in the interest of the Osun people.

While commending the Adewale Egbedun led 8th assembly, we singularly want to salute Honourable Abiola Ibrahim, the lawmaker representing Irewole/Isokan State Constituency in the Assembly for deeming it fit to raise the motion for the said separation on the floor of the House days ago.

You will recall that as the state constituencies are currently delineated, each of the original 30 local government councils are independent state constituencies with the exception of Atakumosa East/Atakumosa West, Boripe/Boluwaduro, Irepodun/Orolu and Irewole/Isokan Local Government Areas that are merged together as one state constituency each. With the growing population of these local government areas, we are bold to say that the separation is overdue in line with the provision of the 1999 constitution.

If the latest effort of the House sees the light of the day, these merged local government areas will become single state constituencies with their own representation in the State House of Assembly thereby bringing democratic representation and dividends closer to the people.

In this vein, we call on the National Assembly to quickly give backing to the bill for the separation of these constituencies without further delay as it is the will of majority of the Osun people and in their interest.

We equally want to urge the State House of Assembly to continue to be more people oriented so as to engrave their names in the history and the heart of the people for a Greater Osun.

Comrade Bolanle Jolapamo (Machiavelli)

Converner GOA.
25th March, 2024,
Osogbo, Nigeria

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *